You are here

Husband worries his kids will feel abandoned

IK's picture

Hi everyone, just registered on this forum to ask this question. My husband and I have been co-parenting our 4 wonderful daughters for almost 3 years now (two of his 12,15 and two of mine 5,12). I have a great relationship with his kids and until recently we had a really smooth sailing. We have his kids 3/4 nights a week, plus their mother drops them off every morning so kids can get ready at our house and walk to school. Initially we moved in with my husband, while I rented out our old house. While our two 12 year olds have been ok sharing a room, we really need to give them more space and move into a bigger house. I want to move closer to the city where we both work full-time, so we can cut on commute time. Also my daughter is going to a different school next year (paid by my ex). We were looking for a house closer to work and between the two schools, which would mean about 20 min bus ride for both his kids and my daughter. Now my husband tells me he won’t move out of the area, because he is worried that if he only sees his kids 3/4 nights a week (because they won’t be dropped off every morning at our place if we move) and sees my kids almost every day, his kids will feel abandoned. His kids were happy and excited about the new house and a new subburb, they didn’t seem to mind the bus ride.. I have a feeling his ex-wife is putting fears in his head, because she needs morning “daycare” and doesn’t want to change her routines. Any thoughts?? And what do I do? I don’t want to 1) sell my old house and invest in the area I don’t enjoy and 2) have my child commute for 40 minutes to school 

tog redux's picture

Oh for god's sake. Can't he ask his children directly, they are not babies.   He "only" gets them 3/4 days a week? Last time I checked my math, that was 50/50.