You are here

How do I approach DH or do I suck it up?

Let_therebepeace's picture

Please help!
Skids & Bios live with us full time. They all start school soon, but I am planning on a short trip to the beach before they go back. DH is working two jobs right now & can't go with us. My concern is SS14, who is and always has been the troublemaker. I don't want to take him without DH going with us. However, I feel like this is going to be a huge fight between DH & myself. How can I explain to DH I don't want to take SS with me? I've never done anything like this before, I have always done the same for all four children in our home. I want to go an enjoy the trip with the children but I know if I take SS with us everyone will be miserable.

secret's picture

maybe try to have SS go to a friend's house or something...and go to the beach with the twins and SD then? Are the twins male or female?

Acratopotes's picture

Simply tell DH you can not control his teenage boy and you will have your hands full with the younger ones, he should arrange something for SS to be doing that day.

If you do not have the guts to talk to DH and say no SS, guess you are staying at home then

Acratopotes's picture

then hell NO... not taking any off them to the beach....

no way I will be responsible for 4 teens at the beach... leave them at home and go all on your own and enjoy it

sunshinex's picture

This makes me think of how people who need love the most, are the hardest to love. I don't know your situation and I don't know your SS but surely he can feel the distance and lack of love here if you're contemplating leaving him out of what appears to be a family trip to the beach? Surely there are other things happening that he feels - and that could be why he acts out?

twoviewpoints's picture

I guess my biggest question is , can you leave this SS at home and trust him not to get in troubles if you take the other teens and Dad is busy working?