You are here

Help with feelings of jealousy and guilt

marina2000's picture

Hi There, I am new to this and would just like advice, help and support from other step parents. I have been seeing my BF for just ove 2 years now, he has a BD12, who is absolutely fantastic, well behaved, well adjusted and I adore her. I have been so lucky in that we get on so well together and we have a laugh usually at my BF expense! I also work 95% of my time away from home so I don't get to see much of either my BF or SD. In the past couple of months I have been having feelings of jealousy towards my SD, which I know is completely irrational but its there none the less. It seems that when I get home from the job, usually late friday nights we always seem to have my SD when I would love to have a little time with my partner alone. As I did not want this to escalate and as I have a very open relationship with my partner I told him how I was feeling. He said that he understood as I worked away most of my time but does know how to tackle it but that we would do so together. Of course I understand how important it is for him to see and be with his daughter and I do encourage it, but I feel that my relationship with him is also important and as with cars it needs servicing every once in a while. I decided that it would be nice if we went away together and asked my partner what he thought, his response was 'but we don't have SD with us' I'm not usually a snappy person but I did respond with 'well does that really matter?' probably not the wisest thing to say! anyway over the weekend the jealousy issue was brought up and he told me that he understood but when we do things without her he feels guilty. I turned the situation around and asked if he felt guilty when I wasn't around and he did stuff with his daughter? he said no, I also then asked if he felt that every now and then we should concentrate on each other - he said yes. The thing is we are not getting the time to concentrate on us, the