You are here

Have a stepdaughter, expecting "our" first soon

sheila50's picture

I currently have a 6 year old SD who is a clingy, manipulative child. She is permanently attached to her dad's side, and he spoils her to no end - no discipline, rules, structure. Her BM is not in the picture and hasn't been since SD was 6 mos old. DH's friend's wife basically raised SD as DH works 60+ hours per week. Since we've been together I have been expected to be the one to pick her up from school, make her dinner, do homework with her, etc.

When DH is around though, I have no role in her life - it's all about the two of them and they go back to their old ways of living. I have tried to talk to DH about setting some structure up with SD (ie a bedtime!) and being consistent, but he refuses and says that the way he does things is just fine and she's a perfect little child. I am a child psychologist and he says I am too used to dealing with "screwed up kids" to know what to do with normal ones. He basically told me that I didn't know anything about parenting, so I have completely backed off and don't do anything for SD unless he specifically asks first.

We are expecting a baby in few months, and my worry is that he is so sure that his way of parenting (if you can call it that) is the only right way that he won't let me have any say with this child and will insist on the same lack of structure, routine, etc. How do I set this up for the baby when he is so oblivious and when it doesn't exist for the SD? And how do I show that I kind of know what I am talking about? His mom and sister totally agree with me but he won't listen to them either...

Aeron's picture