You are here

Feel left out when SO has his kids...are my feelings justified or am I just a whiney partner??

inlovewithmikedes's picture

Hello to all the amazing step parents on this site!! I am so glad I found this site because I am new to the world of blended families. I have 5 bio kids of my own and my SO has 4 kids ages 17, 15, 13 and 10. The eldest three are all girls and think like a tribe! We both have been separated for a little over a year now and met shortly after we separated. My trouble is that his children are cold and withdrawn when I am around them. I desperately want to get to know them and connect with them. I love children so I fully expect to love them all and accept them one day as my own. My partner has his kids 50% of the time and when he does not have them he lives with me and my children who have openly accepted him. Life is bliss when he lives with me! However, every other week he goes back to his house (3 min drive from mine) and has his kids. During this time it seems our relationship basicly stops and I feel disconnected and left out of his life. His children "like" me but I think they are having a hard time with daddy dating a new woman. They are very connected to their BM and share many of her religious values on divorce and dating. He left her so she is probably still angry and hurt and has called me a "mistress" early in our relationship. We do family outings and dinners maybe one time during the week they are with him. He is afraid to show affection towards me and has only recently admitted to them that we are more than "just friends". I feel like I have a part time boyfriend. We talk about marrying and moving our families in together in one year but I don't know how this will happen in light of his daughter's reactions and feelings towards the situation. He doesn't want to push the relationship because he fears that his daughters will not want to live with him anymore since they are all at the age where they can decide where they