You are here

Don’t think I want to be involved in SK lives

Ruby77's picture

So I've posted on here before about my issues with my  BF's 9 year old son. I'm at a crossroad now. It's been almost 4 months since I've seen his kids. I don't miss them at all and that is horrible. It feels so wrong coming out of my mouth, but it is the truth. His 9 year old has temper issues and uses tantrums as a tactic to try and get his way. Now I never say anything to his kids about their behaviour, I try to ignore it or leave the room when I can't stand it. I've said this in other posts, but I believe that he has ADHD and possibly aspergers, but I am no Doctor or professional. I just know that something by is going on with him. 

Anyway....I just don't like the idea of having him in my life or being in his. It's horrible to think about, but he just give off to much bad and chaotic energy...when I am trying to eliminate that from my life. I think the biggest issue is that he has not given me a chance from the beginning (the first 1 to 1.5 years of me actually trying hard to be a part of their lives). Once I realized that he didn't like me and that I couldn't stand the behaviours...I just stopped beating a dead horse, ya know? 

I know that my expectation of having a relationship with his Dad and not with him is pretty unrealistic, but has anyone out there actually been doing this? Not having a relationship with your partners kids? 

tog redux's picture

I think it can probably be done if you don't live with him or marry him - but if you plan to do either, it's going to be very challenging. 

Harry's picture

BM accident, or finding a new Boy toy. Away from BF having SS full time.

Of you can not stand SS, you will never be able to live with BF.   Living with BF means supporting SS with your money. Talk about really being upset. 

Hollis7125's picture

Not to inundate this site with my particular issue but I posted a similar blog last week.