You are here

Culture/language barriers

Titalilam's picture

Hi everyone, first time in step talk and seeking for some advice:

Long story "short"(maybe not that short, sorry!): I married a DH a year ago but we've been together for 4 years. 3 years living as a blended family. I don't bring kids and I never married before. I'm also a teacher from Spain. 
My step kids are good kids but I can tell they don't want a step mother. Sometimes I feel they don't like me. We share the custody 50/50 and the rules at the other house are VERY loose. 

We are more strict at our house about house rules, behavior, and academics (the last I hardly intervene). My DH and I set up the rules together but the kids think I'm the one imposing them because:

a) I'm the stranger in the equation

b) they hardly have rules at the other house

c) I'm a teacher 

The kids have shown more interest to stay at the other house and my DH feels like it's mainly because they don't feel at home. He is the one imposing the rules but when he is not around I'm the one with the load reminding them what to do and, obviously, they don't like that. 

I also struggle with communication because I feel that everytime I'll tell them something related to house rules/behavior, etc... 1- they don't like it bc I'm not their parent (which I get); and 2- I'm more direct talking that maybe their parents because that's how I am (culturally raised) and how I am also able to communicate. I'm bilingual but, obviously, English is still a second language and I'm not as fluent as in Spanish. It's not as natural as my mother tongue. 
I feel like I can't express myself freely because whatever I say they take it rudely or harsh(culture/language), or simply they won't like it because of my SM role at home. 

We've got to a point where I don't feel comfortable at my own home because I can't be myself. I'm afraid I may hurt anybody or I could be judged and not liked even more.