You are here

Cold feet?!

justa102's picture

I'm new to all of this. I'm 30 and have no kids. I've been with my fiance for 4 years and he has 3 girls (6, 11, 16). I've only been introduced to his two youngest kids recently. I know, 4 years later and I actually meet them. But I never pushed him into meeting them.. I let it happen when he felt comfortable. Then again he recently proposed to me back in April. (Proposal was before meeting the kids.) We also don't live together. He sees his kids maybe twice a month for a few hours because they live an hour and a half away. First time I met them me, him and his 2 youngest daughters and did a kid activity.. Another time (just last night) we went to a party. I have yet to meet the oldest. No biggie, she has her own life as a teenager. Both times I met his kids everything went great. I don't think there was anything to complain about. First time I met them I was told they thought I was nice and pretty. That was a relief!

On the way home in the car with the kids in the backseat, I had this really weird feeling and today I can't seem to shake it. I think it's "cold feet". I was sitting in the car and I thought, "I don't want to be a step mom.. I don't even think I want to be a mom anymore." It freaked me out and I got scared. It's almost as though it felt too real if that makes sense. I remember listening to the girls sing in the backseat, looking at my fiance driving then I looked straight ahead and got scared. It feels almost unexplainable. I didn't tell my fiance about how I felt. I thought the feeling would pass but it's still here. I never thought I would feel this way. I have a niece who's 14 that I helped my sister raise since my niece was a baby. I'm great with kids.

Question list.. Here we go. Has anyone ever felt this way? Will this pass? Can anyone explain why I'm feeling this way, because I have no idea!? I keep thinking if I don't want to be a step mom how can I be with my fiance?

Freaking out here!