You are here

Can this actually work?

Anna2's picture

My fiance and I live together with my biological 6 year old daughter and his 5 year old daughter. His daughter (and he would agree) misbehaves a lot and is just plain mean (spits at kids at school etc.). The situation has become one of the only things we fight about but when she is here (50/50) she takes all the attention of the house (negative or positive). As much as I love him it scares me that this will one day tear us apart. Does anyone ever make this work as I am fairly new to the step parenting thing? Sounds like a lot of people feel like they never should have gotten married to begin with. Please help. I really want to believe we can get through this and be as happy as we have been together.

quippers01's picture

We wanted another kid together but after watching more with his kid I have reached the same conclusion as you. I have also taken blender's approach. He does his thing and I do mine.

violetforest's picture