You are here

Being his 2nd wife..

missmama1234's picture

I am his second wife and we have twin baby boys together.
We have SS10 full time. I am generally very happy with our life but sometimes get thrown off when he reminices about his first son. I know that it was a special part of him and I should embrace and respect it but I can't help but feel like we can't just focus on our babies together without him comparing it to SS's birth.

Iespecially hate it when he makes comments about our babies looking like SS. SS looks like his mom.

ChiefGrownup's picture

Be frank with him.

"DH, I want you to enjoy yourself with these babies and share your feelings with me. But I need to tell you my own feeling and that is this is my first time. You are the only father of any kids I will have. It may be hard for you to see it this way, but I am asking you to give me this anyway. I feel bad feelings when you bring in prior experiences and by extension bm into my own moment. It's natural you are having memories but for me I am creating them. Perhaps you can save those comments for your brother or sister or parent, someone who was there at the time and can enjoy those memories with you. I don't enjoy them and I know for certain you would not say hurtful things on purpose. It's not your fault at all. I'm just asking you for this favor now."

Give him the chance to make things right for you. I think he will come through.

SMforever's picture

I can see both sides of this. What the OP needs to acknowledge is that all three of the children are his, and that he sees them as siblings who will need to bond. Perhaps he is concerned with the older boy feeling sibling acceptance. Perhaps he's just proud that he now has a family of five.