You are here

Will I ever feel like family?

Stressed0ut's picture

This is my first time posting. I am in desperate need of advice. I am 20 with a 23 yo old boyfriend. We’ve been together three years. He has a 9 yo son who lives with his bio mother in another state- he goes and visits his son quite often but I haven’t met him yet due to family drama. 

I’ve always dreamed of being a mother and within the next five years I wanted to have a child. I have a good job and supportive family etc. My boyfriend said he didn’t want another kid at the beginning of our relationship but halfway through when I said he wanted one he said he did too... but he is never excited about it. He has a been there done that attitude and I’m worried if I have a child with him he will either regret it and treat our child differently or he will not act excited during my pregnancy and I’ll be going through it alone. The only thing he said was that he missed a lot of stuff with his son because he was in school and he wasn’t able to give him a lot and wanted to do better with our baby. But my first reaction to that was that my baby would be our their own person and we would be a family.. our child just would be his do over because he messed up and wanted to try again.  He says nothing can compare to your first child, but I don’t want my child to be second best because he already has a child. I already feel like I’ve missed a lot of firsts, and feel a bit second best myself as he’s lived with her, got engaged, got a house together etc, and it’s stupid but I just feel like I’ll never have any of that. He says it’s not as exciting as it’s made to be so I don’t need to worry about it but I’ve wanted those things in my life. When I think about trying for a baby I want to plan for a nursery and be excited.. and he just says that when we want to have a baby that we just will..