You are here

Is there something wrong with ME?

crueljoke's picture

I am a 36 year old teacher. I love my job and am very nice to my students. BUT when I get home, I see my 17 year old step son and I am just angry all the time. 

Backstory: I met my husband 6 years ago. We moved in together 4 years ago and married 2 years ago. On our first date, his son called him thinking that I was going to murder him. If that was any indication of how his and I relationship would go, I should have known to run! Also, his mother was in the picture. She would phone a lot and lie to him which caused him to act out. She passed away in 2016 due to an overdose. 

When we all lived together at first, it was horrible. SS would cry and throw fits and be mean and lie. He was only 10-11, so I thought it was semi normal for him to get his way. He would deliberately throw food away and ask for something else to eat. He would be mean to my dog.. He would hide things of mine. Finally, I told my husband and he said it would be something I have to 'fix' and show him I'm the boss. I didn't want to overstep my boudnaries, but my husband made it clear that he couldn't make his kid mind, so I had to do it. 

Well, thats when it all started. I picked my battles, but I did make him mind. Slowly, he stopped lying (come to find out only not lie to my face), and would be a little more respectful. Fast forward to now- he is 17. He is a clean, average kid. But I don't like him. I don't like him at all.