You are here

New to stepparent hood and scared

Hm75's picture

hey guys I’ve never done this before I have searched the web for all kinds of help and have found nothing I’m 21yo and have been a step parent for about a year now of two little boys 2 & 3 years old and for the first 6 months after I meet the boys their biological mom was out of the picture. I tried to step up and help and it went okay I did what I could when I could with working full time and going to school full time. It’s really hard anymore because the 3yo does not listen to me and will constantly smack me and bite me I am the only person in the house that he will do it to and he does it at random times he will come up and snuggle with me then out of know where he bites me or just smacks me I remind him that’s not nice and not to do that but he not my biological kid so I don’t have a lot of say it’s so hard to be in my own house that I pay for when the child of my spouse does not listen nor acknowledge me when I speak to him the 2 yo on the other hand loves me and we get along great but I don’t even wanna be around the 3yo because he cause conflict between me and my spouse and does not listen at all I also do not have any kids biologically.

Many advice 

elkclan's picture

What do you mean you don't have any say? Is it not your house? Is it not your body that is being bitten and hit? Sure you don't have the right to hit another person's child, but if your BF is not backing you up 100% and pulling that kid into time out immediately or if he is undermining any timeouts that you instigate then you need to reconsider this relationship. It's really that simple.