You are here

*New Here* Mixed emotions on what my step daughter just said to her dad.....

YoungStepMum19's picture

Hey everyone, Im Sophie.

I am new at this but just signed up to have people to talk to who are also step parents.

My partners little angel is staying over tonight ( shes 5, 6 in April) We only see her once on a sunday, then have her friday/saturday the next week and it goes like that.

We currently live in a static caravan (one of the big holiday ones) in my other halfs parents garden but we are buying our own house in july.

His ex ( his daughters mum) is now married and has another child with a different bloke. For the last year she has been pretty much been staying round some other persons house (a husband and wife and their 2 kids)for some reason, so he husband is left to look after her two kids (he is very nice and does a great job) She only sees her kids like 2 times a week

Anyway...

My partner was tucking his lil girl into bed and she turned to him and said " Daddy when you and Sophie get your new house, Can i ask Alex if i can come live with you two. Then Sophie can be my real mummy and mummy can just be my step mum"

Im happy that she looks up to me like that, but i know my place. I don't tell her to call me mummy but i am there for her and when she is in our care i protect her like my own (im not just going to cast he asid because shes not my blood)

But this has upset me and my other half that she doesnt want her mum to be her mum anymore, and she is clearly not happy living when she is (we already knew this.) We want to take action and get Sole Physical Custody for her just because we know she would be happier with us (this is not about point scoring against his ex)

Its made me feel a little down as i just dont know what to do or how to feel about this :/

not2sureimsaneanymore's picture

Huh. A firetruck. I assumed you wanted to grow four wheels and make loud alarming noises while running red lights?

Orange County Ca's picture