You are here

New to the forums, saying hi, and asking for advice

goferdad's picture

Hey everyone. I just wanted to introduce myself. My name is Adam and I'm a 29 year old soon-to-be step Dad.

I'm still learning all the abbreviations here so take it easy on me :). Long story short bio-dad and I used to be great friends. Always loved my now fiancee. After they split it wasn't long before her and I got together and engaged.

I went from a 29 year old single, working professional to being a step-dad to two wonderful children - a 2 year old girl and a 6 year old boy. The kids are great and I love their mom very much. But boy is it a lot more overwhelming than I had thought.

Because the transition happened quite quickly - I feel as though I "replaced" Dad in both the household and the parenting life. I've been assigned "jobs" that used to be done by the bio-dad that have simply fallen on my lap. Don't get me wrong, I love the kids and enjoy helping out however I can but it can be a lot to process so quickly. I understand that there is a process and way things are done in the household, especially with the children and so I don't really say much. Is it selfish of me to want to discuss my role and to figure out what works best for the two of us rather than just assuming all duties that the bio-dad used to do? I should clarify that I'm not complaining about household chores here - but I didn't realize that it would be my job to bathe the kids on my own because mom never used to do it.

Also, any advice on the subject of discipline? When I bring up the topic with my fiancee her normal reply is that I will "figure it out." That's really hard for me because I don't know where to draw the line on my own. I feel like I need to support her decisions, but it seems she wants me to discipline on my own as well but I'm worried that I may cross a line that I'm unaware of that my fiancee does not like.