You are here

Is jealousy normal?

callmemyname's picture

Hi all. Question for those with no kiddos of their own, but raising a SD/SS. 

Is my jealousy normal? For example, SS4's school has a "donuts with dads" and "muffins with mom" day. Of couse BM got to go to muffins with mom. And tomorrow FDH will go to donuts with dad. I don't get a day/chance to go do things with SS4, becasue I am not technically a parent. While some days I hold him at arm's length, I still would like the opportunity to see him in his school setting with his new friends, but I can't. 

Another example: My FDH and I coach SS's youth sports teams. The coordinator always says "lets give a big think you to our moms and dads for bringing us today!" And SS always looks at BM and FDH and just loves them so much. I feel like my love and efforts are not being reciprocated. We have a pretty great relationship compared to where we used to be, and when it's just him and I or us and FDH, he's my little shadow.

Is this jealousy normal or am I out of my rights on this one?

Cbarton12's picture

It's normal overall. How long have you been in SS4 life? If not very long, not likely that coaches etc will see you on par with BM and DH. 

I've been with DH 3 years and now daycare workers and SD's teacher acknowledge my prescence and my role in SD's life. Her teacher even had her make a stepmom gift for mother's day. 

I'm sure his school will have other events that aren't exclusively labeled for mom's and dad's .SD used to have valentine's lunches etc where everyone was welcome. I am sure you will get the opportunity to participate in the future. 

callmemyname's picture

I have been with FDH for over three years. SS was 1.5 when I finally met him. He does not remember a time before me. I just don't understand why staep-parents are always so on the back burner when we sometimes take better care of the kid than the bio parents!!

elkclan's picture