You are here

How Can I Stop Feeling So Conflicted?

SpringBlossoms's picture

I'm new to this, and have sought out this forum through desparation! So here goes.....

I have been in a relationship with my DH for about 4 years and am fortunate to love and be loved by a gentle, kind, caring supportive, respectful man. Yay!

With him comes two SSs, an SS10 and SS13. I've always had difficulty liking and tolerating SS13 - talks obsessively, games obsessively, and talks about games obsessively, to the exclusion of undertaking most other normal simple daily activities, and in a way which is constantly disrespectful and ignorant to anything else going on around him. He doesn't really game when he is with us because we jam pack the time full of other (often physically active) activities, which is exhausting for us when they are with us, but it's not possible to stop him talking obsessively about gaming! SS10 on the other hand, was verging on delightful in the early days, however now is turning into a small replica of his controlling, manipulative, carniving, soul destroying, self-centred, disrespectful, narcisisstic (need I go on) BM }:) . Together, the SSs are pressing every single foul button I have, and some I didn't know I had!

The SSs spend about every 2nd weekend with us, as well as the majority of school holidays, each visit involving a 5.5hr return trip for the SSs (which is less than ideal). I'm beginning to dread them coming, to resent them, to "hang out" for their departure, and to look for every possible way to remove myself from the "family" when they are here, and to not spend time with them.