You are here

Having trouble adjusting

Slick Vic's picture

I am very new to this step-parenting malarkey and would appreciate some advice. My boyfriend has a three and a half year old son and has been separated from the birth mother since he was a baby. A custody arrangement is in place in which we have his son two nights a week. We have been together for less than a year but have known each other for a long time and he ended up moving into my place very quickly. I don't have any children of my own but would like them in the future. I have nieces and nephews of various ages and I am fairly confident I have a good idea of what developmental stage and ability a child should be at by three and a half years old, and as such I feel my partner is really baby-ing his son. I know it is because of fear that the birth mother will move away as she has threatened to do or turn his son his against him which she also appears to have started to do, based on a few things the little one has said on occasion. As such, my partner is trying to keep him dependant and child-like for as long as possible and has even told me as much once when he was very upset about something the child had said which clearly came straight from his mother. However, understanding his rationale, even if it is mostly unconscious, doesn't make it much easier to deal with.

A number of things in particular really bother me.