You are here

Feeling overwhelmed and alone

Hannah190's picture

Hi everyone, I'm new to this site and wanted to reach out to other stepparents as I'm feeling very overwhelmed with it all at the moment.

My partner and I have been together for nearly two years now. His daughter is 5 and she lives with her mum during the week and stays at our place on weekends. Me and my partner aren't married, but we live together, so I'm not officially a step parent- I kind of feel like I'm in this in between, non-category I guess. 

His daughter and I get on well and we have a really good relationship. She's constantly wanting to sit with me or play together and feels very comfortable around me- which is great. I think what I'm struggling with is how intense it all can be. I have no kids, and no experience with kids before this. I also have no experience with step families so all the intracies of these kind of situations is totally new to me. While I do enjoy the time I spend with her- by the end of the weekend I'm so exhausted and worn out that I can barely do anything sometimes. I guess I'd describe myself as an introvert- I find it hard to cope with having no time or space to myself. We also live in a small 2-bedroom apartment which gets very cramped when all three of us are here. There's also the stress of my partner's relationship with his daughter's mum- as it's very up and down and there are cycles where they are constantly arguing and I never know what's going to happen (i.e she'll occasionally decide he can't see her at a moment's notice or when we do have an evening planned just the two of us, nearer the time she'll kick up a fuss and our plans will end up cancelled)