Clothes

Rainbow2012's picture

hi 

I am new to this kind of forum and reaching out.  

Happy step mum to 4 wonderful children. 

I don’t want this coming out the wrong way, because I am happy to do what I can for the kids.  But is it typical to keep sending them to their mums in decent clothes, most of  the time brand new, and for them to frequently come back in Clothes that are too small, even with home in the crotch area, socks from when they were babies, Tight underwear  with threads hanging out??!  It’s not always to that extreme, but if I see something like that I put it straight to recycle, or if it’s just to small but otherwise decent, I hand it over to someone who needs. I don’t mind things going back and forth of course, the clothes belong to the children.  But anything new goes one way and never comes back?? We have asked at times and then get a bag back of stuff that’s too small.  Then she says she doesn’t have anything, yet  see pictures on Facebook while they are wearing just about everything I have bought them? I wouldn’t mind sometimes as they are kids and can get holes on the day etc.  It’s just so frequent that I am constantly replacing everything!  And I refuse to sent them back in clothes with holes or too small Or falling apart because I just think it’s not fair on them. They do have some of their older things in the cupboard, but will often chooose something new to wear back, and I don’t say anything to them because I don’t want to get them confused.  They are still young(but old enough to dress themselves).  

But I  just don’t know if I have a right to complain so I’m brining it here!

Anyone had to deal with this before and any advice?  Or do I just carry on as I am ? 

Thanks in advance Smile

tog redux's picture

Seems like a common thing on here.  I commend you for not wanting to send them back in too small clothes, that seems to be the solution for many people, but it seems kind of a tough solution for the kids.