You are here

Left Behind

Mrs Cellophane's picture

First time poster, long time lurker. I have finally hit a dilemma with my DH where I really need the advice of others who have been there. I'm still learning the acronyms so please bear with me. 

My husband and I have been together for 5 years, married for 2. It is my second marriage and his third. I have one son who is extremely kind and accepting of the new man in my life. DH has 5.... 3 different women. So, that should have been a red flag. 

I have a decent relationship with 3/5. SS, 34, was estranged from dad for many years but has come with family to visit for a couple of days. 

Since their arrival,  I have been completely left out. Yesterday they went on a museum tour and I was left home to care for all the pets. When he returned,  he told me we were all having dinner, gave me the menu, and wasn't much help from there. Finally left to join everyone on the porch while I did all the cooking and cleaning. After dinner, I left for awhile to vent to my BFF. 

I had an errand to run this morning,  and when I returned, everyone was packing up to go somewhere. I was not invited. He tried to say "love you" on the way out the door, but I didn't respond. They have now been gone for 6 hours. I haven't heard from anyone. I am still home. 

I am very hurt and really trying to decide if this marriage is for me. I know I could talk to him, but feel then I would be imposing where I am clearly not welcome. I don't know what to do. Please help. This hurts... alot. 

SeeYouNever's picture

It seems you are in his life or not on his terms. He has no intention of integrating you and his kids. It's one thing to not invite and include you, and another to treat you like a servant! He expects you to not be seen or heard when his kid is around. I would ask him why he thought this was ok to be so negligent and disrespectful to you. 

Gimlet's picture