You are here

How to act toward his daughter???

cowlypso's picture

This is my first time posting here. I'm currently in a serious relationship with a widower. His late wife died 6 months ago, and we've been dating for 4 months. I've known the whole family for about 7 years through church. Our relationship is serious, and I am anticipating a marriage proposal within the next few months if not sooner. I do not have any children of my own, and have never been married.

He has 2 adult daughters. One just finished her junior year of college out of state. She is a good kid, mature, and although she has expressed her dissatisfaction with him dating, she is respectful and shared a meal with us last time she was in town. I don't really have any worries about her.

His other daughter just finished her freshman year of college, and has been a lot more trouble. She was living at home with him up until a few weeks ago, when she moved out to live with her aunt. This was after things kept escalating and getting more and more awkward. It got really bad when my guy went out of town and she got onto his computer and downloaded (and shared!) our chat logs. She had told him that me coming over to the house made her uncomfortable, and that she felt like I give her weird looks when I see her.