You are here

32 year old daddy's girl living with us

Alaska Nurse's picture

I don't even know where to start. SD is 32 years old and moved in with us in June of last year. Her mother is a bipolar and SD has always lived with her or been living close enough to be very influenced by her. Up until June SD lived in Florida. She was supposed to come up here to "help her dad" for the summer (he's a general contractor). At end of summer, nothing happened. In September she announced to her dad that she was an alcoholic so he felt she should stay with us and go to meetings. For one, I don't believe for a minute that this is true. We were on a vacation together with her and my adult daughter earlier in the year for 3 weeks. She stayed in a room with my daughter during that time and never once took a drink of alchohol. A true alcholic would not have made it that long without some symptoms (I'm a nurse and was a director of a drug and alchohol rehab in the past) The issue is both her mother and father were alcholics and met in AA. I believe this is how she is able to have a "common ground" with her dad and gain his sympathy. His other daughter is 28, very responsible, just got out of Navy, is married and has a beautiful daughter. The 28 year old lived with us several years as a child so I had some influence in her raising.