You are here

29 YO SS, going on 15

feduptim's picture

Hi all,

This is my first time posting here. My wife and I have been married 8 years. We have been together 10 years.

I have 2 step children: a SD - 31 with 3 grandchildren; and a SS aged 29 who acts like he is 15.

First of all he is a drug addict and has been so for 10-12 years at least.

The SS29 has been arrested so many times, he doesn't even know how many times b/c I asked him this last time. Two years ago this 4th of July, he OD'ed on heroin.

My wife always bails him out, hands him money, buys him cars, hauls him around, rents him motel rooms, and generally enables his destructive behavior. And insists that I help fund his next "new chance".

I am trying to work toward retirement, but I don't see it happening with Baby Matthew.
Of course, according to his Momma and him, it wasn't his fault any of the times he got locked up. And now he is a drug addict and the system just doesn't help.

I am tired of her enabling behavior.

I am at my wits end. I love her; but I am tired her 29 yo baby!

Journey Perez's picture

Looks like your wife needs counseling and help too for her enabling behavior. SS will never get well if he can lean on his mom like a crutch. Its really a shame how something like this can come between a marriage, but I don't blame you for being OVER IT and not wanting to enable any of it. Good luck.

feduptim's picture

SS29 just got thrown out of the house/family he was living with. So wife goes and helps him move into a motel room on my dime!

feduptim's picture

I like the stepshit label - perfect.

Unfortunately, I am coming to realize I and being used and abused! That is painful to realize and accept.... But that is part of healing.

Exjuliemccoy's picture

It seems your wife and her son are caught up in the sick dance of addict and enabler. I warn you, your wife may NEVER see the light and let her kid hit bottom. My pos older brother lived off our mother until she DIED.