You are here

SD and BM recently seperated. Long Story. Any advise or support would be sooooooooooo great!!

jmedad's picture

Hello all
This is my first time posting on a board like this and I want to thank anyone who take the time to read this.

First off..it KILLS me to describe myself as a "Step" Dad. I NEVER have before. My wife and I have been together 11yrs and have a son together (9) and two girls (11 and 14) that were hers from before.
They were 3yrs old and 2 months old when we started dating. I have always treated them like my own from the time thier mom and i got serious and never refered to them as step kids. They both call me dad and , in fact, the youngest girls first word was to call me dad.

Thier biological dad was not involved at all for the first few years, although his mother would visit the oldest girl every friday ( at this point he was still trying to deny the youngest was his).

Long story short, as the years went on he wanted to see them more which my wife and I would allow even though he went as long as 4yrs at one point without giving my wife the wopping $50 a week to help out she asked for.

he recently came into some money and would spoil the girls with big ticket gifts i could never afford yet still rarely forked over the fifty bucks.

For all these years I have been there everyday. Done all the disciplining (sp?), paid all the bills, and ,most importantly, have all my heart to these girls.
There was never any differance between them and my son in my eyes and I would get mad if anyone suggested there was.

This brings us to present day. A few weeks ago my wife decided to leave me. Her reasons are kinda vague and i dont really understand them but she claims she is never coming back. My gut tells me she means it and wont be back. She doesnt want a divorce mind you, just wants to live apart....yes its kinda wierd but thats what she wants