You are here

What are family court's priorities?

htd_sh's picture
Forums: 

Hi there, newbie here!

I have no experience with the court system- other than being the child of a divorce and it was pretty clean cut. The last time DH and BM went to court, I was not involved yet. Background: Children are young elementary age and there are 2 of them involved. DH doesn't have any CO visitation, BM has sole custody and CS is paid unofficially (there is no CS court order) with only bank records to show it is being paid. (I hate this, refer to my other posts. But it is what they agreed to do for current timing and I cannot force changes in my role.) 

So anyways, I want your experiences on "what are the court's priorities?' In my opinion, both biological parents are capable for caring for the children. Obviously, I think my husband and I are capable of caring for the children. I think BM is capable of caring for the children, I think her situation is very ugly, but I don't think the children's welfare is in jeopardy- not right now at least. (I think it was in the past, but unfortunately we have nothing to show that-- just what BM told DH in a verbal discussion that obviously got heated when DH heard these things that were occurring in the house.)

Do the courts really prioritize the child(ren) seeing BOTH of their biological parents?

I have heard they sometimes favor the custodial parent, but does that mean giving the NCP no visitation at all?

What do they look for in "a safer household" other than basics like food, water, shelter?

Do they factor income in at all when it comes to visitation/custody?

Any experiences, opinions, and suggestions are very welcomed!

dysfunctionally_blended's picture

"The last time DH and BM went to court, I was not involved yet."

Why isn't there a CO or CS order then?

As for your question family court seems to vary based on geographical area. Some states are very pro mom and others are pro shared, equal custody.