You are here

Ex taking lower paying job to avoid support increase.

Chevy92's picture
Forums: 

Hi all,
It's my first time posting on any kind of site or forum or... anything really. I'm a mom of two girls, an 8 year old with my ex, and a 3 month old with DH. Recently I've been struggling a lot with my ex. I think I've given him a lot of slack over the years regarding support, and I've always tried to work with him when he needs some extra time to pay. We've been separated since she was about 3 or 4 months (so quite a long time). Our custody was based off of him having her every weekend (which is still the agreement we follow today). He was working at a restaurant at the time we went through court, so he was only ordered to pay $126 a month. That rate has never been adjusted at all in the last 7.5 years, and he has had a much better paying job for about the last 4 years or so. Although the amount he has to pay isn't much, he still struggles to do it. He lives at home with his parents in their basement, and does not have any financial obligations outside of his car insurance and cellphone bill. So it's been hard for me to understand why he has such trouble, but I try my absolute hardest to never rock the boat so that things can be civil and happy and my daughter doesn't have to sense anything is wrong.