You are here

Divorce Hearing Tomorrow

Starting_Over 20's picture
Forums: 

Hello, this is my first time posting.  I have been lurking for awhile.  My divorce hearing is tomorrow and I am feeling suddenly overwhelmed by the thought of what to wear!  My STBX and I did not get lawyers and I drafted all of the legal paperwork myself over the last seven months.  I thought I was ready and totally prepared, only to let a silly thing such as, what to wear, get my anxiety rolling. What did you wear to your final hearing?  It seems crazy to me that this is the trigger that is setting me off right now, especially after all the work and preperation I have put into this.  

DHsfamilyfromhell's picture

I didn’t have to go to a divorce hearing (lucky me, got my decree absolute via e mail a few days before Xmas!).

I would also wear something suitable for an interview. I always opt for navy or a nice blue shade. 

If you are one for make up (maybe you don’t need it but I do due to skin pigmentation from my pregnancy’s) I would wear some very pretty but barely noticeable pinks. A look that says ‘she’s pretty’ not wow look at her make up. 

Good luck, I hope it’s not too traumatic for you. 

Thank you both. I've finally settled on a basic navy dress that goes to my knees. I don't wear dresses but it was the only thing in my closet that seemed appropriate. I appreciate your responses and it did help settle my nerves. 

Rags's picture

My XW wore a skirt and jacket. I wore jeans and a a button down both cleaned and the shirt pressed with black cowboy boots.  The divorce was in Texas.  What I wore was fine.  We did an uncontested single attorney divorce. The attorney advised that I not attend.  That situation did not sit right with me, so at the last minute I went.  Good thing.  That pissed my XW off so much she lost it in front of the Judge and he ended up awarding "Property as possessed" and since she had moved out... I got the house!

Woo hoo!