Adoption

Doc03rien's picture
Forums: 

This is my first time joining a step parent group, not really sure how it works...

My husband and I obtained full physical custody of his son over a year ago with no visitation to his bio. She suffers from untreated mental health issues and drug addiction. She has 3 other children (custody of none) but is delusional and thinks one day she’ll get custody back, and will never willingly sign over her legal rights.  She relied heavily on the child support to support her addiction and has taken some unsavory avenues since losing the custody battle for money. She recently found a new guy to take pity on her, and she’s moved out of state with him.

By moving out of state, does she lose her legal rights?

I’d sincerely like to adopt my stepson and he’d like me to officially/legally be his adoptive mom, as well. 

His bio isn’t even allowed in the same room as him, is no longer in the same state/time zone as him and clearly can’t make healthy choices for herself, so why should she still have a legal say? 

Any advice would be great! 

justmakingthebest's picture

Talk to a lawyer each state in different. I was adopted by my stepdad when I was younger (about 30 years ago, but here the rules haven't changed). My parents found a loophole. My bio was in jail and "lost in the system". They sent notices of the hearing for adoption to his last known address and posted notices in the local paper and since he never responded or showed up to court my stepdad was able to adopt me. It was a long process, over a year. If you think you guys can avoid her for that long I think you have a shot!

lieutenant_dad's picture

No, moving out of state does not automatically make her lose her rights. Does your DH have sole legal and physical custody? It is possible for BM to still legally be SS's mother, but she may not actually have any say over his care and wellbeing.