You are here

Why do these kids drive my up the wall?

Murse69's picture

Hi everyone. I'm brand new to this and in serious need to vent my frustrations.

I have been with my partner for over four years now and she has 2 boys aged 14 & 10. She had been seperated from her husband for over a year when we got together and are now divorced. To begin with the boys were alright and were ok to be around. But over the past 2-3 years they've become a complete nightmare.

It's come to a point now that I just don't want to be in the same room as them.

I don't understand why they act the way they do and it only seams to be at home. They are completely selfish, they have no thought or consideration for me or their mum and are entirely disrespectful. They can't do as they are told and if anything is said to them all you get is a mouthful of cheek and abuse. They just don't know how to follow the simplest of instructions and when you confront them on something they have done (even witnessed) they deny it to your face. They sulk, they moan, they are unapreciative, they expect everything done for them, they expect you to jump when they want something. The worst thing though is their mother just tries to ignore it and they never get punished properly (or if they do it's forgotten about or not enforced as their mum just wants a quiet life. Plus I'm not allowed to punish them or if I say anything to them I get the row from my partner for being too harsh when it was really quite tame. They get spoilt by their grandparents and don't know the meaning of earning something, just putting out their hand and getting what they want.