You are here

StepMother and Dad have physical Cusody

bradensu's picture

Anyone in the same boat as me? We have the kids (SD10, SS11)full time with bm having them on weekends. She pays us chid support ($250 per kid), but is currently $5000 behind. She has just recently started regularly getting them on her scheduled days. She does not work and has two more children with her boyfriend and have to sare a bed at her house. We do everything for them, take them to practice, parent teacher conferences, etc. She does what she needs to do nothing extra. She has missed basball games, cheer competitions, yet the kids are ok becase we always show up to support. So it hurts my feelings when they treat me as second to her. I know that she is their bm, but I have done so much for them. Not fair for all a do!

Anywho78's picture

Hi Bradnsu, I am a resident FSM to 2 Skids (SS8 & SD7)...I completely relate to all that you do for your skids...my BM has seen the Skids once in the last 3 yrs & calls them MAYBE once ever 1.5-2 months for a 2 minute chat.

Terribly sad for the kids & highly annoying for me (especially when she calls FDH telling him what I should or should not be doing!)

This isn't a competition...you do for them because you love your DH & care for them. I love my Skids...but I know that I'm NOT their mom...no matter what I do, I'm not mom...I will always be not mom & that needs to be ok...it's just the way it is...I am hoping that one day they realize what she is, but I'm not holding my breath...

You are a GREAT SM & that's what they need. I'm lucky because my FDH is on top of them as far as respecting & listening to me goes and of course there are plenty of times I want to pull my hair out (or theirs, or hers)...ugh it's an itch of a job I tell ya!

Best of luck to you & im or email me if you need to chat Smile

giveitago's picture