You are here

ss17 dating a 14y/o

dakotamom's picture

ss17 is dating a 14 year old girl. i found online by searching that this is illegal. Do i tell Dh and hope he has a conversation with ss or do i just backoff and let him deal with everything concerning his kids?
ss17 was interested earlier this year in attending a state college in the coming fall. he met a girl adn now is reconsidering going there and instead going to a local college. i have no problem with this as long as he still goes to a school. upon asking ss17 if he had contacted teh school to go on a visit he came back with a "the school called me and had to reschedule". i'm having a hard time believing this because most colleges will bend over backwards trying to get you there.
DH never went to school so he doesn't know how the game goes. i graduated college in 2005 so i'd like to consider myself still recent. bm is 40 so it's been a while for her. i'm concerned that ss17 is not goign to go to college because of this girl that may not even be around by the time he should go to college.
Dh is to teh point when i asked him to check with ss about the college visit that he snapped back about how ss didn't appreciate anythign i've done for him concerning the info i've looked up and trying to help him with student loans. he said that ss needs to now take responsibility. i agree with this but i'm worried if he's not pushed that he wont look in to it. DH said that he'll never kick his kid out on the curb but if he chooses to live with us after high school he will have to have a full time job, there will be no freeloading. i'm not sure i buy this. DH is a total pussy when it comes to his kids. he talks a good talk until he's faced with the follow through then there's always some excuse.