You are here

Specialty Attorney

GoldenTiger's picture

Am I the only one to think there needs to a separate specialty for attorneys who deal exclusively with stepfamilies? Like corporate law, real estate law, blended family law...

SO I ask all my fellow SMs, SFs, BMs, & BFs - If there was an attorney who specialized & dealt strictly with stepfamily issues like those posted all over this board, would you be more willing to cough up the $$$ for that attorney or a divorce or general practice attorney?

What kind of attorneys have you guys hired? Do they have a specialty?

My brain is on fire this morning!

Milomom's picture

GoldenTiger, I would ABSOLUTELY be in full support of having attorneys that specialize in "blended family law". As a matter of fact, I'm an attorney (New York) and I'm also in a blended family.

I see what my BF went through with his divorce (it took 3 years because his ex/BM wanted more $$$) and I generally saw two major problems:

1. New York laws regarding child support are so antiquated - the entire CS system needs a complete overhaul. NY allows a BM to sit home & collect CS while being intentionally unemployed/underemployed - even in a 50/50 custody situation!!! The more $$ the NCP makes, the better it is for the BM's (here in NY, anyway).
2. Attorneys who don't want to "buck the system" and go to trial to fight for their client, so they just encourage the client to give in and "settle" just to get the divorce overwith & move on with their lives (and of course, the attorney wants to get PAID for doing as little work as possible).

The attorney my BF hired for his divorce was a "nice older woman", but in the end of the day, she didn't have the "balls" that my BF needed in a good attorney to fight for his rights & for what's fair. She kept telling him: