You are here

SD23 and Heath Insurance - VENT

iloveit's picture

Ok so I don't know why this bothers me but my SO told me in passing the other day that he picked up SD23 on his health insurance. I understand that the new law states they can be covered until the age of 26 so it's perfectly legal but...this REALLY bothers me. I think part of it has to do with the fact that right now I don't have any health insurance and I feel like it's not fair that she gets to f*ck off and quit jobs and do whatever she feels like doing but daddy will cover her insurance but I can't even get an annual pap! The rule used to be, upon turning 23 OR when you graduated from college (whichever comes first) you would be cut off from your parents' insurance. I'm not even kidding you, DAYS, not weeks but days after I graduated college I got a letter from the insurance company stating that I was cut off and that I had the option to get Cobra which was extremely expensive for me. Don't you think that covering these leaches until the age of 26 enables them even further from taking things seriously? SD23 doesn't have to bother getting a full time job with benefits so you KNOW she's not going to! Her and her sister don't live with us of course and we are going to be engaged pretty soon so I know I will be on his insurance at that point but why does it bother me that she is on his plan? I mean come on, a lot of my friends were already married with families before 26 they were not on mom and dad's insurance! Then SO says, "She knows that she has to cover any extra costs and that I am not responsible for co-pays etc." Yeah right so you're telling me when she begs you for money for some stupid medical thing you're not going to give in? Bullsh*t. These grown adults have absolutely no concern for themselves or their lives or careers, they are just as content to let daddy take care of them...is it just me or is this really annoying????

hismineandours's picture