You are here

Really new to this ... feel a bit left out and wondering how to handle things for the best?

dakota's picture

Hi,

It’s definitely pushing it to say I’m a stepmum of any kind, as I am pretty new to this. Apologies if I am in the wrong place.
I’m dating a man with 3 young kids – 7,4, & 3. I have no kids myself. I’ve met them a few times and it’s always gone pretty well (I’ve been pleasantly surprised!), we have done activities like going swimming; to the park with a picnic etc. They seemed to like me and ask after me if I’m not there. However the weekend that just passed was really tricky at times and I’m after a few pointers please, to do the right thing by us all and preserve my self-esteem.

The weekend we picked them up they’d just got back from holiday with Mum and were tired and cranky. To say they were clingy to their Dad the entire weekend is an understatement (and of course they will be because they are so young and going through a transitional time, I get that). We were out for the day and all 3 of them were demanding to be carried, if I tried to help they shook me off like a leper (anything I did or said all day). They fight to sit next to him; each wants his undivided attention and for him to be in 3 places at once ; if he tried to include me , eg ‘look at this lovely lunch that dakota has made’ it almost made it worse because the 4 year old decided he therefore didn’t want it 