You are here

ranty mc rant rant

bm-needs-maury-povich's picture

For a long time now, i have been saying SS3 has some of the signs of autism. Does not socialize, watches wheels spin, has repetitive behaviours, hits himself in the head, does not talk as much as he should, walks on tippy toes, becomes EXTREMELY agitated when routine is disrupted, has had his hearing tested due to lack of language skills, ETC ETC ETC!

Now, I am not a doctor or an expert, but at the organization I work for I am exposed to information about special needs children on a weekly, sometimes DAILY basis. After noticing something strange with SS, I told my SO with great concern. He noticed something weird too and he would look into it.

Then he told his family. SO's family refused to believe me...basically took the position that I am the crazy, dumb, young SM trying to find something wrong with his son or put him down. There were rude jokes made etc...anytime SS did anything slightly strange when I was there, they'd all be like "Autism, right SM?" "I guess that's a sign of autism too." My SO, I guess relieved, took their side. Nothing was ever done.

Long story short(ish)...some strange woman walked up to SS's babysitter on BM's time at the park. And said to babysitter, "I have been watching this child play and he appears he might have autism. I work with autistic kids. Have you had him tested?" babysitter told BM, she told SO...AND NOW EVERYBODY BELIEVES IT! So...some woman who you don't know at all (how do you know she really works with autistic kids?) says this; you play a game of broken telephone and NOW it's time to get him tested. WTF?

I only told them bc I CARE ABOUT SS. Early treatment is KEY with autistic children...and the WORST thing you can do with an autistic kid is to mistake the signs of their disorder for bad behaviour and punish the kid instead of treating him for things HE CAN'T HELP!