You are here

Question about Child Support via Stepparent

monkeyboy2030's picture

Quick question about CS. I am SF for 8yo and 4yo stepsons that live with BF (long story). Anyway - at divorce trial, CS was based on my DW's income. She wasn't working at the time (thanks to horrible temporary orders), and the CS was based on what she could be making at the time. She is an LVN and in RN school, but won't finish until next year. BF is a real PIA, and has complained that we owe him for medical insurance for the SS for 1 1/2 months (BS as we can prove). He has successfully arranged for a conference (mediated by Texas DA) to re-evaluate the CS next week. I pay my wife's CS and have the SS on my medical insurance because I am working. I am a physician, and am wondering if he thinks he can get more from my DW for CS. The BF is a correctional officer and makes 1/6 of what I make.

This entry in another topic worried me:

"Normally court does not allow it unless a) the bio parent who is supposed to pay cs is unemployed and the step- parent is supporting bio parent. or b) the step parents income is significant enough to warrant extra cs being ordered to ensure the skids are provided for equally at both houses."

Is this true? If it is, I don't think it is true for Texas.

I am not allowed to attend the CS re-evaluation meeting, and didn't think it would be a good idea for my DW to be in the same room as the BF - but whatever. I just asked her to make sure she breaks off the knife after it hits the back of the heart.. ...

Any advice or clarification would be much appreciated. Thank you in advance.

Tx mommy of 3's picture