You are here

Posting this as a skid not as a stepparent

collinanderson's picture

If you look at my blogs, I'm a soon to be stepparents, but i'm posting this as a skid.

My mom passed away when I was really young, and my dad got remarried. My dad's wife (refuse to acknowledge her as my stepmom) treated me like garbage and my dad allowed it. She basically made it her goal to make my life miserable, and my dad let it happen. I was called "useless, waste of space", she told me that I was never going to make something out of myself , I'm noting but a disappointment; all of this in my DAD'S home. He NEVER once stood for me, HIS SON. It wasn't like he didn't know what was happening because I would tell him, and all he would say "I'll handel it". Guess what? It continued until I was 17. When I graduated from highschool, I left and never went back. 

I worked hard in Univeristy, and 8 years later, I'm a pharmacist, and I own 2 pharmacies (I'm anything BUT a failure). I have not spoken to my dad since I left, he's tried to reach out  to me many times throughout the years, but I've never responded back (real childsh move, but I'm only human).

Last year, his wife was diagnosed with breast cancer and passed away. I didn't contact him to give my condolences. Everytime I tried to dial his number or send him an e-mail, I would remember all the times his wife would blanatly call me "dumb", "lame", "worthless", "pathetic" (Sometimes in front of him and NOTING); I'd get angry and delete the e-mail or turn the phone off. Till this day I have no regrets for not attending her furneal, NONE what's so ever.  I was not glad that she passed, but I wasn't sad either. It did not matter to me.