You are here

Play Dates

JD's picture

I am a stay-at-home stepdad to Angie's son, Jason, and this is a brand new role for me. I'm just learning about "playdates" and setting these things up with other moms and Mr. Moms. I feel that while Jason is not in school now (he starts kindergarten in September), it's very helpful for his physical and mental growth to be with other kids. I am a firm believer in daily interaction with other young boys and Jason's closest play pal was Angie before I came into the picture. I am doing my best on a daily basis to push social interaction for his pre-school development. I thought I'd feel a little out of place helping Jason make friends at the playground or encouraging for him to get to know other kids, but it feels great.

Today was a very productive day for Jason at the park. He is somewhat shy, but today he made two new friends and had a ball playing with them for a good three hours. I cannot stress how important I think this is that all parents and stepparents take their kids on these playdates and get them involved in outdoor activities with peers their own age. When I took on the role of Mr. Mom, I never wanted to just keep him in the house with me all day so he could just watch TV and play video games. This kind of stimulation is so much more beneficial.

Angel's picture

What a very loving stepfather!!!!! He is a lucky child.

JD's picture