You are here

Nurse here on the front lines. Is DH being Selfish?

Terra2fly's picture

I’m a nurse in New York working 40 plus hrs a week dealing with Overwhelming stress the Coronavirus is causing to our state. Working Long hours with not enough Supplies to properly protect us. DH is a high school teacher who Obviously is home now for god knows how long. He has to meet online with his class a few times a week and answer emails his students may have about the work he gives out. This equals maybe a few hours work a day. 

Ive asked DH if he could help me out with some of the housework I Usually do since he’s home. DH was home all last week and he got two rooms Vacuumed, dishes done a couple of times and a couple of loads of Laundry. 

I was Slightly irritated as nothing else got done and I had to do it over the weekend. DH gave me an Attitude that he cleaned the basement(man cave and I could care less) and worked on his side Business(selling things on eBay and again could care less as the money DH makes goes to pay BM or shit for the step brats). I really needed HELP in the things that I had to do like cleaning the main house. 

Another thing is DH will never clean up/put away anything I brought into the house or belongs to me. Over a week ago I Purchased a package of toilet paper and did not have time to put it away. It STILL sits by the kitchen door. Would it kill DH to put it away for me?? DH has NO problem going around after step brat cleaning up after him. DH Constantly leaves dirty clothes all over the place which I pick up when I do laundry but my clothes that were on the floor DH just left. 

Now I don’t expect DH to be my maid. But in this time Of crisis when I’m overstressed and super busy at work it would be nice If DH made an effect to do a little more to help me out. It’s like he’s only doing things that Either benefit only him or things that he wants to do.