You are here

Nothing to do with stepkids. I've just got to get this off my chest.

MadHatter's picture

After a stressful couple of days at work, I'm feeling pretty bad, and I'd like to just see this in black and white. Maybe just for myself. I may hit the delete button after I finish typing, because at this point, I have no idea what is going to come out of my figertips. 

Let's start with a little background. I am a manager at a small business. I have about 34 employees on the books. As a matter of company policy, we drug test randomly. New employees are not tested prior to employment because we are well aware that they have been "studying" (not doing drugs) in anticipation of a pre-hire test. Instead, they are placed on a short list and their number will be pulled at random some 40  to 60 days after their hire date. 

So, around the first of October, I hired this girl (early 30's, so not exactly a girl). She was smart. She was personable. She had experience in the industry. She would be a really good fit in our company, and I was looking forward to, hopefully, her long-term employment because it's hard to train people and good ones are hard to find. She was married and between them they had a couple of kids that didn't live with them. She talked a good talk about how she and her hubby were so happy together...blah, blah, blah.