You are here

A not-officially-yet step mom needing help

Mandybug's picture

Hi there and thanks in advance for listening and for your advice....

I'm not yet technically/legally a step mom, but well on my way (and happily!), but I realize I need help in this area. I thought because I come from a large and loving family that I've had plenty of experience with kids (although I've never had any biologically, as it has been my choice), that it would prepare me for my current situation.  But as many of you reading this sentence just giggled...yes, it is so NOT the same. 

I'm currently seeing a man I want to spend the rest of my life with; we are both happily divorced; he has a son of 6 and a daughter of 9. I have, for the most part, a wonderful relationship with both of the kids. 

Rags's picture

I recommend that you immediately establish the connection between equity life partnership and being equity parents to any spawn in your home regardless of kid biology.

Lock that in.. Early and your blended family life will me much better than if you don’t.

FDH and the SKids need this clarity. And so do you.

Good luck.

notsurehowtodeal's picture

Just to clarify, you are never "legally" a step-mom. A step-parent has no legal rights in regards to their step-kids. Hopefully this will never be an issue, but just want to get you started on the right foot.

Read around this sight, you will gain much insight and knowledge that will make your journey easier. Good luck!

sammigirl's picture

I took "legally" as the marriage, not the stepkids.  Good luck.  No advice, I never had young step kids.  You will probably need to stay here.  HUGS!

tog redux's picture