You are here

Newbie Mini-Rant

WitchiePoo's picture

Hi! Newbie here. Thank goodness I found this site. I'm currently huddled over my cell phone seeing what fun stuff comes up under Google searches for "I can't stand my stepkids." A little harmless stress release for stepmom here. We are at the tail end of a 2-week "vacation" stay. BM decided she wanted to go party with friends and left early Christmas Eve at the last minute. She's cuckoo and a huge reason the kids are the way they are. I told my husband that I never in a million years thought my schedule would ever be dictated by a psycho, yet .......

I have one ss who's10 and an sd 11. The BM has meager parenting skills and they don't have much discipline. What drives me nuts is that DH and I are supposedly on the same page as far as discipline but it's left to me and I end up being the bad guy. Ugh. And because they don't see their dad much it's needy-clingy-ville when they're here. I get it but it still bugs me. And they're very emotionally immature. My ss actually cries and walks in place and has the other affectations of a toddler at times, including baby talk. He's extremely timid and showed up with a stuffed animal to carry around in public and to sleep with the last few visits.

My sd is a harder read but she is also very emotionally immature. She's a little sneaky and "collects" items that I have to dig out of her bag before she leaves.

I work from home,so for the last 2 weeks I've not been able to get much done, and it's very frustrating.

Thanks for letting me vent!

WitchiePoo's picture

And they both lie to me all the time. I fantasize that they set sail in a hot air balloon then magically reappear 20years older with jobs and homes in foreign countries.

attempting_to_maintain_composure's picture