You are here

New to step parenting.

Megancrowe's picture

Hi I am new to this whole step parent. Technically we are not married yet. But we are engaged. My SO is a single dad raising a toddler with autism. The daughter was taken away from the mother when she was only 3 months old for forgetting to feed her which put her in the hospital. This is her fourth child with autism that was taken away. She was put into foster care until my SO got custody. The mom has no parent rights. She does get supervised 1 hour visits a week though that is forced through DCF. The father hates the mother. And wants me to be a mother towards his daughter. He calls her ours and that really I will be her mom. The mom gets visitation rights to her older kids and gets them on weekend. And her third oldest is put up for adoption. The mother didn't know about me until it was brought up in a meeting with DCF over the phone. And the mom was on it. My SO gave me props on how well I was doing with the daughter and how much she loves me. The mom got mad and asked for more visitation rights. But was told no because of COVID. Right now it's over the phone. And that she was scared that the daughter was going to call me mom. I got upset. Yes I know she is the reall mother but she did this to herself 4 times. And I love this little girl with all my heart. I may not be her biological mother but In every other way I will be. I'm trying to teach her to talk and help her be the best she can be in life. I'm not even focused on her calling me mom. But her just talking. She's 3 and is having trouble reaching her milestones with the autism. But she's so smart. I just have no sympathy for the birth mom. But instead I feel jealous. And I'm angry that I'm jealous. That she gave birth to this beautiful girl and she's not mine. I feel really confused and I'm new to all this. I just wanted to rant really. 

justmakingthebest's picture