You are here

Know too much about the ex wife

Angiegirl's picture

Ok, so this is my first time in an arena such as this. My partner and I have been together for 6 years and I had nothing to do with the end of his marriage. His ex wife left him for another man.

He has 3 adult children, one son I get along very well with, a daughter from hell and another son who picks and chooses who he will be nice to at any given time, although he is heavily infuenced by his Mother and sister.

Prior to meeting my partner I was friends with his ex wife, his kids introduced us and encouraged us to be together. This went really well for the first year, until we recieved word that his ex wife was jealous of how well I got along with the kids, then things began to fall apart.

The daughter and ex are both very controlling and dominant and would like to still control what happens in our life, they know just about everything that we do. I have no idea how or even why they would want to do this.

My biggest problem (besides the behaviour I deal with from them obviously) is that while I was friends with the ex wife (well before my partner and I got together) she told me about the many men she was with before and during her marriage. I believe one of the sons is not fathered by my partner. 

My partner has heard about a few of the men she was with over the years and was extrememly hurt by this. However he tends to blame the messenger for the information and ignore what his wife and his own friends did behind his back.

I feel terrible keeping such secrets from him, especially about his son, but know it would hurt him deeply and be very hard to put the pieces back together after the fall out. The suspected father is a trusted, close family friend.

Any advice here on how to handle this situation and deal with the way the ex wife and daughter treat me would be greatly appreciated. I have gotten to the point where I have totally disengeged with them and have no communication at all.