You are here

but he's such a good dad..... bullshit

leftfield's picture

my exbf and i work in the same field and have alot of mutual friends and coworkers since this town is so small. everyone thinks he is such a great daddy because he has his kids allll the time and wouldn't have it any other way. he also involves them in tae kwon doe, swimming and soccer and sits at all of their games/pactices.

but what they dont realize is:

he never works with them in these activities. he drops them off at their practice and watches, but he does not practice with them at home. I tend to think he puts them in these activities because it kills some time, but that's just my opinion.

he doesnt cook for them. unless u consider canned raviolli or frozen chix mcnuggets cooking?

whenever I would walk through their door, daddy was usually on the computer and the kids were in their rooms with their DS glued to them.

Daddy has no patience when it comes to homework help.

daddy favors the youngest to the point where it's ridic. And he has noooo boundaries with this child's mom, which he is perfectly fine with.

he never takes them outside to throw a baseball for them, teach them how to ride a bike, etc. I taught the 5 year old how to hold a damn bat for the first time.

ugggh. but he's such a good dad!!!

steptwins's picture

Are you married to my DH? This is him to a "t". Zero quality time, or actual parenting. More like a friend with a license and ATM card.

leftfield's picture

Just because he stays doesn't mean he is interested. He sits there and texts, grabs refreshments, walks around the mall (these classes are at the mall).

good parenting means u go to practice and see how they are performing, and if they are having a problem in a certain area, you practice with them at home. You encourage them and give them thumbs up, get to know the other parents and build a cammaderie with them, too.