You are here

Have a relationship with a guy who has a child. Child hates me now for no reason & guy blames me. Tips and tricks?

belmammy's picture

Hey folks,

I am new here at steptalk. And like many of you, I suppose, I searched a place to vent about my relationship with a guy, who has a child and hopefully exchange tips and tricks with persons who have gone to the same dramas like I am going through right now .
So now to my story( it will be a little long- I apologize in advance- but I think it is better to tell the hole story):
I am dating my boyfriend for two and a half years now. He has a child ( a girl, who is 7 ½ years old). He has joined custody of his daughter with his ex-wife. Both live in the same city two streets apart from each other (he and his ex). I myself was never married, nor did I have a child. I am still a student doing my phd.
When we started dating, we both agreed that I would only have close contact to his child if it would be a serious relationship-for the childs sake. After dating for some months, I started to have contact via skype with his child and him. The girl liked the conversations. And maybe one year into the relationship I started to go out with him and his child (not frequently-maybe once a month). We had never a problem. He told his child, that I am a friend. We never exchanges kiss or so when she was present.