You are here

Did the right thing?

northernsiren's picture

forgive me, I'm new at this whole mom thing.

Wednesday SD's french teacher called to tell us that she had taken SD's cell phone away for the second time in class (mind you, SD has only been in school there for a month). FH and I talked about it, and I was in the camp of taking it from her for a week (he thought it was too harsh, and thought she should get off with a warning, though I pointed out the first time the teacher took it away was a warning). He sided with me, and we explained the situation, and took the phone away.

SD handled this well, there was no yelling on either side. All good? Not so much...

SD has been using her cell phone as her alarm clock, despite the fact she has an alarm clock in her room, and her nintendo DS that also has an alarm, which she used before she got the cell phone. So she set the DS instead after we took the phone away. Yesterday, it didn't go off, and FH woke her up just in time to go flying out the door and get the bus, leaving her room a mess. FH was annoyed with her, and commented that she needed to be on top of it. (she did clean her room when she got home).

Today, SD is in the bathroom straightening her hair when the time for her to leave passes. FH says "you know it's 6:48" and she says yeah, then says "you mean 5:48" and he said no. So she drops everything and goes flying out the door, running down the street, and managed to catch her bus.

A few hours later stepmom is cleaning up the living room, and goes to put a couple of SD's things in her room, and finds a paper SD has been working on all week in a report cover on her desk. It's due today.

I called FH and asked him what he wanted me to do, and he said well, she needs to learn. I disagreed with him and said yes she does, but not at the expense of school. He said I could handle how ever I want, so I drove it up to the school and left it at the front desk and had them page her to get it at the end of class.