You are here

DH being ridiculous

NoNameThx's picture

My DH is a cop. Some of you remember me saying that I was offended (Secretly, didn't tell him) and kind of sad that on our anniversary, my only gift was a necklace that said "Police Wife". My husband has a constant need for approval and the constant need for others to be bragging on him. The gift did not seem like a sweet gift, but rather something for others to notice who HE is and brag on HIM for what HE does. I mean I am a teacher; wouldn't it have been more meaningful to get me a teacher necklace or something?? Why should I wear something to show who I am in relation to HIM?

DH just bought SD10 a phone. He made her background on her phone a picture that said "Police Officer's Daughter". He thought it was sweet. She kind of did too. Yesterday she asked me if it would hurt her dad's feelings if she changed that to a picture of One Direction. I told her it was her phone, make her background whatever she'd like.

DH flew off the handle, told her it was hurtful and wrong. She told him I told her it was ok. He went off on me.

Does this seem ridiculous to anyone else?!

luchay's picture

"I've had people tell me that's what being a cop does to a man but I think they are wrong. Being a cop doesn't give a person that powertrip attitude; that person already had that personality and being a cop allows him to INDULGE that attitude."

Absolutely!!

My first husband was a control freak, the big I AM, he really got off (gets off) on power. He became a cop MANY years after I left him, and thank God we now live 3000k's apart! I would not want to be living anywhere near him now that he has that sort of power. VERY SCARY.

Irrelevant to the OP - sorry Smile

Your OH is being totally ridiculous. I thought at the time that the present to you was really not ok, YOUR birthday present, you would like to hope your SO cared enough to take the time to find something for YOU. Not about him. Self-centred jerk.