You are here

Complicated...

lostmysway's picture

Hello forum.  This is my first time posting or talking to anyone else about this situation besides my wife and direct family.  I wanted to get some outside input.  I'll start from the beginning...

I met why wife at age 22 we have been married for 13 years now.  When we met, she was a single mom.  My prior relationships lasted a few weeks to a couple months. Her son was a year and a half.  I had no kids and was very against dealing with anyone's kids as I was being forced to deal with my older brother's kid situation with his failed relationship.  I put those feeling to the side and started dating my wife.  I explained to her, I'm not around to deal with anyone's love child.  If you choose to have a kid with someone, be responsible for your actions and deal with it.  Leave me out.  She explained to me that her son was the product of a short relationship and failed birth control.  No love was involved, he will never come back, and she's not getting child support because she just wanted nothing to do with the guy.  I felt at the time that it wasn't her fault, it wasn't planned, it was a mistake and the dad was no where to be found.  I put myself in her shoes.  After all, that could be me! a few ex-girlfriends told me they wanted to have my baby.  It would be a nighmare if I knocked up any one of them even after taking every precatuion available.  My way of thinking is, I would only decide to give the best of myself to the person I fell in love with.  The person who I choose to be the first to be the mother of my kids will be the person I want to spend the rest of my life with.  I expected the same from my wife.